Imerys-Gantts Quarry Observation Site

Open to the public from 9:00a.m. until 4:00p.m. daily.

241 Sylacauga Fayetteville Highway, Sylacauga, AL 35151

View on Google Maps

Experience Sylacauga’s scenic overlook while learning about the unique history of the stone that Giuseppi Moretti called, “The finest white marble in the world.”

Sylacauga Marble was discovered by Dr. Edward Gantt, a surgeon in Andrew Jackson’s army, during the Creek War of 1813-1814. His efforts to open a quarry began in earnest in 1847. Edward Gantt purchased his first quarry land in 1832 (after the Treaty of Cusetta made Creek lands available to settlers) and established Sims & Gantt in agreement with three others in 1834. Even though he did not move to Sylacauga until 1840s, he was very much involved in marble quarrying from 1834 on.

By the early 20th century, the area that had become known as Gantt’s Quarry was operated by Alabama Marble Company producing blocks of marble or ornamental and structural orders.

In 1944, Moretti-Harrah expanded its quarry operations to include calcium products, as well as structural stone. At that time, a company named Thompson-Weinman served as sales arm and distributor for Moretti-Harrah calcium products.

In 1963, Alabama Marble Company became part of Georgia Marble Company.

By mid-1970’s, three major marble companies were in operation in Sylacauga-Georgia Marble Company, Moretti-Harrah, and Thompson-Weiman.

In 1986, English China Clay (ECC) purchased Moretti Harrah and then purchased Thompson-Weiman in 1988.

In 1992, Georgia Marble Company entered a joint venture with a company called OMYA to form Alabama Carbonates, L.P.

In 1995, Imetal Group of Paris acquired Georgia Marble Company and in June, 1999 acquired ECC International. They became a part of the new Imery’s Company – a company with an international presence in mineral processing.

The mission of the Sylacauga Marble Festival is to recreate the magic of marble through its artistic, commercial and industrial applications.